Marriage license laws in the state of Minnesota: Here is what you need to bring with you, and what you need to know about the Minnesota marriage laws before filling out the Minnesota marriage license form.
In order to get married in Minnesota, you must apply and receive a marriage license. Check with your local county clerk of court’s office for the definitive word and requirement. You typically need to apply for your marriage license at least 30 days before your wedding ceremony.
A marriage license doesn’t mean that you’re married. It simply gives you permission to get married, and we hope you’ll choose us.
Residency Requirement: You do not have to be a resident of Minnesota to apply for a license and to get married in Minnesota.
Applicant Requirement: Only one applicant need apply in person.
• Applicant will be required to complete all information about both applicants:
• Full names;
• addresses, dates and places of birth;
• Bride’s name after marriage
Identification requirements vary in each county. A valid driver’s license or certified copy of birth certificate may be requested.
Waiting Period: 5 days. Fees: $110 – It’s best to take cash, as some counties require 15 working days if you pay by check.
Blood Tests: No blood test is required.
Age Requirement: You must bring proof of age, i.e. a passport of birth certificate with you. Applicants 18 years of age may obtain a license. It is necessary to provide proof of age.
• Applicants between the ages of 15 and 18 must have the consent of a parent, guardian or the judge of juvenile court (see Minnesota Statute 517.02 for more details).
• Applicants younger than 15 needs the written consent of a parent of guardian and the consent of a juvenile court judge (see Minnesota Statute 517.02 for more details).
No. However, only one applicant can apply for the marriage license as long as all the required information for the absent partner is provided. Call the Clerk of Court to see how to get your partner’s signature notarized. Requirements may vary from county to county.
Common Law Marriages:
No. However Minnesota will recognize common law marriages that are legal in other states.
Yes. There is a waiver of a portion of the marriage license fees to couples who do a 12 hour premarital education course. The course must use a premarital inventory, teaching about communication skills, and conflict management skills. According to the Minnesota Statute, “The premarital education must be provided by a licensed or ordained minister or the minister’s designee, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under section 517.18, or a person authorized to practice marriage and family therapy under section 148B.33.
Solemnization Official: Marriages may be solemnized by any of the following:
• The officials authorized to solemnize marriages include judges, clerks of court, and licensed ministers, priests or rabbis. In some counties there is a court commissioner who is authorized to officiate at marriage ceremonies. There are also special provisions for marriage between members of the Bahai, Hindu, Quaker and American Indian religious groups.
Valid: License is valid for 6 months days.
The license can only be used within the State of Minnesota.
Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. This is information is current as of the date of this posting, but do not solely rely on it. Please check with your local county clerk of court’s office before making any wedding or travel arrangements (see below or go to Minnesota Secretary of State web site).
Blue Earth County
New Ulm, MN
Center City, MN
Grand Marais, MN
Crow Wing County
Blue Earth, MN
Albert Lea, MN
Elbow Lake, MN
Park Rapids, MN
Grand Rapids, MN
Lac Qui Parle County
Two Harbors, MN
Lake Of The Woods County
Le Suer County
Le Center, MN
Mc Leod County
Mille Lacs County
Little Falls, MN
St Peter, MN
Otter Tail County
Fergus Falls, MN
Thief River Fall, MN
Pine City, MN
St Paul, MN
Red Lake County
Red Lake Falls, MN
Redwood Falls, MN
Elk River, MN
St Louis County
St Cloud, MN
Long Prairie, MN
St James, MN
Yellow Medicine County
Granite Falls, MN